[ Connect with K105 ]

Thompson and Lee to headline inaugural Grayson County Sports Hall of Fame

In a long overdue event, the inaugural Grayson County High School Sports Hall of Fame inductees will be honored between the girl’s and boy’s basketball games against Butler County on Friday night at the high school.

With a rich history of high school sports achievements crowding the field, Grayson County’s initial induction class must be considered elite, by anyone’s standards. Representing the best Grayson County has to offer on the field of play are 10 former top drawer Cougars athletes, one legendary baseball coach, and a distinguished, long-time program contributor.

Track offers the most inductees, beginning with 1982 graduate Pat Alexander, the late Kim Escue (1994), a state track champion, Spring Wall (1993), Lee Miles (1996), Angie Lee (1999), Brian Soverns (2006), Josh Smith (2007), and Deshea Brock (1995).

Basketball star Chris Gaither (2002) is the only hardwood inductee, while softball standout Michelle Critchelow (2005) represents the lone Lady Cougar from the diamond.

Legendary Cougars baseball coach Don Lee (1975-1998) is the first head coach of any sport to be honored with Grayson County Sports Hall of Fame induction, and K105's own Dave Thompson (1975-2007) is being distinguished as THE Voice of the Cougars for his long and outstanding broadcasting career.

Critieria for induction

The criteria for automatic induction include being a KHSAA state champion in an individual event, being named Mr. or Miss in state polling, being honored as a national player of the year, or prior induction into the KHSAA Hall of Fame.

Other criteria taken into consideration are First Team All-State recognition, All-American status,  college scholarship recipient, and outstanding achievements in coaching, among others.

Additionally, the nominees must have participated in KHSAA sanctioned sports, been out of high school at least five years, be voted in by two-thirds of the voters, and only individuals are considered, no teams.

Those who nominated the athletes and coaches were coaches, administrators, and athletic directors.

The Lady Cougars take on the Lady Bears beginning at 6:00.


Listen Live:
K105 Videos
K105 Photos
More Videos