[ Connect with K105 ]

Posted: Saturday, 03 May 2014 8:56AM

Twin Lakes Regional Medical Center awarded top score

Designed to rate how well hospitals protect patients from accidents, errors, injuries and infections, the latest Hospital Safety Score honored Twin Lakes Regional Medical Center with an “A” – its top grade in patient safety. The Hospital Safety Score is compiled under the guidance of the nation’s leading experts on patient safety and is administered by The Leapfrog Group, an independent industry watchdog. U.S. hospitals were assigned an A, B, C, D, or F for their safety.
This is the fifth “A” Twin Lakes Regional Medical Center has received, and the hospital is one of only 251 hospitals in the nation to have earned an “A” in all five score releases. The Hospital Safety Score is the first and only hospital safety rating to be peer-reviewed in the Journal of Patient Safety.  
According to Twin Lakes CEO Wayne Meriwether, receiving the honor again reflects on how seriously the hospital staff takes safety.
“Receiving The Leapfrog Group’s top safety rating five consecutive times is a tribute to our employees and physicians for the excellent care they provide to our patients,” Meriwether said about the honor. “It is my hope that when someone in our community has to be hospitalized that they can rest a little easier knowing they will be receiving the absolutely best care possible.”
Twenty-six hundred hospitals across the U.S. were assigned a score and in Kentucky;11 hospitals received an A; 12 received a B and 25 received either a C or a D.
“Safety should come first for our families when we pick a hospital, because errors and infections are common and deadly,” said Leah Binder, president & CEO of The Leapfrog Group, which produces the Hospital Safety Score. “No hospital is perfect, but we congratulate the board of directors, physicians and providers, administration, and staff of Twin Lakes for achieving an 'A' and showing us that they made the well-being of their patients a top priority.”  
Calculated under the guidance of Leapfrog’s Blue Ribbon Expert Panel, the Hospital Safety Score uses 28 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to produce a single “A,” “B,” “C,” “D,” or “F” score representing a hospital’s overall capacity to keep patients safe from preventable harm.

More than 2,500 U.S. general hospitals were assigned scores in spring 2014, with about 32 percent receiving an “A” grade. The Hospital Safety Score is fully transparent, and its website offers a full analysis of the data and methodology used in determining grades.

Listen Live:
K105 Videos
K105 Photos
More Videos