[ Connect with K105 ]

Grayson County High School DECA shatters school record

For the first time in Grayson County High School history, every student who participated in the DECA regional conference placed high enough in the standings to advance on to state competition. Grayson County’s unprecedented success is highlighted by DECA participant Kenadie Minton winning the Region 2 Kentucky DECA Member of the Year Award.

DECA (Distributive Education Clubs of America) is an international association of high school (and college) students and teachers focusing on marketing, management and entrepreneurship in business, finance, hospitality, and marketing sales service. The organization’s goal is to prepare leaders and entrepreneurs for careers and education in these fields.

In addition to Minton’s accomplishment, special recognition was given to Cody Swift, DECA Regional Parliamentarian, as well as Regional President Ashton Filburn for the outstanding job the two did in organizing this year’s DECA conference.

Grayson County High School, with 30 first place finishers, overwhelmed its competition by sweeping the top five spots at the regional meet:
  • First Place was awarded to Blake Davis, who participated in Business Operations Research.
  • Placing second in the competition was Kristen Davis, Business Operations Research.
  • Placing third overall was Kelsey Embry, E-Ship Innovation Project.
  • Fourth overall was Sam Embry, Sports and Entertainment.
  • Placing fifth was Ashton Filburn, Creative Marketing Research.
Grayson County High School also boasts the largest DECA chapter in the region with 127 participants.

“A very big congratulations to this group who have made history for our chapter, and thanks to each (person) for supporting these young folks and our organization,” Grayson County High School DECA chief Cynthia R. Smith said about the gifted and dedicated students and those who offer guidance and support to them.

Ashton Filburn and Kenadie Minton


Filed Under :  
Topics : Education
Social :
Locations : Grayson County
People : Ashton FilburnBlake DavisCody SwiftCynthia R. SmithKelsey EmbrySam Embry
Listen Live:
K105 Videos
K105 Photos
More Videos