Over $1.6 million in scholarships, awards earned by 2020 Grayson County HS graduates. Here’s the list of winners.

Under normal circumstances, Grayson County High School graduates who receive scholarships and awards are recognized at an event hosted by the school. But with coronavirus concerns resulting in the cancellation of the event, the school district has provided a list of 2020 GCHS scholarship and award winners.

This year, over $1.6 million (over four years) in total scholarships were awarded to Grayson County High School students, according to district officials. The list of scholarship and award winners can be found below:

Allene Raymer Memorial         

Christopher Odom

Attendance Awards – Perfect Attendance            

George Priddy

Byrd Tool Scholarship (Math/Science – Highest Average)             

Payton Abney

Caney Creek Watershed – In Honor of Paul Coats             

Madison Dudgeon, Stephanie Geary, Rylie Hayes

Caneyville Class of 1969               

Morgan Lindsey

Caneyville Elementary PTO        

Spencer Cannon, Kaylee Embry, Stephanie Geary, Rylie Hayes, Matteson Milam, Shelbi Weedman, Hailey Woosley

Central Kentucky Family and Sports Medicine Half-Court Shot Scholarship

Shelbi Weedman

Clarkson Elementary Junior Beta Club   

Mallory O’Neal, Mackenzie Willoughby

Clarkson Elementary School PTO             

Mallory O’Neal, Mackenzie Willoughby

Cynthia R. Smith Scholarship    

Madison Blaylock

Don Lee Memorial         

Brooklyn Glasscock, Mallory O’Neal, Shelby Pierce, Cooper Terry

Central Kentucky Comm. Foundation    

Addie Jo Horn, Holly Lykins, Matteson Milam, Briley Napier, Mallory O’Neal, Mackenzie Willoughby

Friends of Rough River Lake – Gillie Hust Memorial        

Brooklyn Glasscock

Georgia Sisk Nursing Scholarship             

Shelby Pierce

Grayson County Strong Scholarship  

Alexis Back, Haleigh Brooks, Graci Keown, Morgan Lindsey, Samantha Milliner, Christopher Odom, Natasha Ramsey, Morgan Whittington

Grayson County Cattleman’s Association             

Rylie Hayes

Grayson County Chamber of Commerce              

Matteson Milam

Grayson County Detention Center          

Taeja Parsons

Grayson County Farm Bureau   

Payton Abney, Erin Ashley, Haleigh Brooks, Natalie Conder, Delanee Dennis, Madison Dudgeon, Brookly Glasscock, Ethan Hatfield, Channa Lay, Kandler Lindsey, Mallory O’Neal, Hunter Pendergest, Ethan Pierce, George Priddy, Cooper Terry, Morgan Whittington

Nancy & Ken Robinson Grayson County Historical Society           

Alexis Back, Spencer Cannon, Kaylee Embry, Shelby Pierce, Mackenzie Willoughby

Grayson County Homemakers  

Kaylee Embry

Grayson County School Board of Education – 1st Generation Scholarship

Graci Keown, Braxton Robinson

  1. W. Wilkey Elementary School – The Gerald B. Claypool Scholarship

Shelby Pierce

  1. G. Hale Memorial

Alexis Back

Kentucky American Legion Family Post #81        

Briley Berry, Madison Blaylock, Natalie Conder, Delanee Dennis, Kaylee Embry, Stephanie Geary, Kaitlynn Justis, Channa Lay, Samantha Milliner, George Priddy, Natasha Ramsey, Joseph Sims, Shelbi Weedman, Morgan Whittington

Key Oil Company Scholarship    

Cooper Terry

Leitchfield Masonic Lodge #236

Madison Blaylock

Leitchfield High School Alumni 

Morgan Whittington

Leitchfield Woman’s Club           

Brooklyn Glasscock

Lions Club – Jonathan McKinney Memorial         

Hannah Willis

Logsdon-Gipson Memorial Scholarship

Payton Abney, Spencer Cannon, Jessica Manion, Hailey Woosley

Marie Escue Memorial

Madelyn Blalock, Kaylee Embry

Oran P. Lawler Elementary PTO               

Brooklyn Glasscock

GCHS Football Alumni Association Doug Thompson Memorial  

Cooper Terry

Royce Logsdon Memorial Scholarship   

Kaylee Embry

St. Joseph’s Altar Society            

Ethan Pierce

St. Paul School Scholarship        

Lydia Mudd, Savanna Higdon

Stacy Pierce Memorial Scholarship         

Shelby Pierce

The Cecilian Bank Scholarship   

Brooklyn Glasscock, Briley Napier

Twin Lakes Regional Medical Center Hospital Auxiliary 

Shelby Pierce

The Write Stuff – Gilda’s Club Louisville

Madelyn Blalock

Emma Pittman Award  

Shelby Weedman

National Merit – Loews Corporation       

Ethan Hatfield

Inez Dennison Memorial             

Morgan Lindsey

Hagan Scholarship         

Erin Ashley

National FFA Scholarship – Case IH          

Raquel Lopez-Flores

National FFA Organization Darling Ingredients Inc. Scholarship 

Rylie Hayes

University of Kentucky – Melanie Glasscock-Simpson Scholarship            

Payton Abney, Alexis Back

Altec Industries Education Achievement Award

Jessica Manion

WKU Kentucky Builder’s Exchange         

Cooper Terry

Southeastern Color Guard Circuit Scholarship   

Taeja Parsons

Grayson County High School Class of 2020


Payton Abney

Valedictorian – GCHS/Gatton Academy

Spencer Cannon


Shelby Pierce


US ARMY ROTC                                                

US Army Valley Forge Military College ROTC Scholarship             

Ethan Stewart

AUSTIN PEAY STATE UNIVERSITY                                                             

Academic Scholarship, Advancement Scholarship

Gracie Nelson

BRESCIA UNIVERSITY                                                           

Angela Merici Award, Track and Field, Talen Award for Art

Ethan Pierce

Academic Merit Scholarship, Athletic/Dance Scholarship             

Rhiannon Wilson

CAMPBELLSVILLE UNIVERSITY                                                   

Academic Scholarship, Baptist Leadership          

Erin Ashley

ELIZABETHTOWN COMMUNITY & TECHNICAL COLLEGE                                                

ECTC – KCTCS Commonwealth Scholarship

Mallory O’Neal, Mackenzie Willoughby

ECTC – KCTCS Meade Tractor Agriculture              

Hannah Priddy

ECTC – KCTCS 4th District Retired Teachers Association 

Mackenzie Willoughby

GREENVILLE UNIVERSITY                                                             

University Award, Choral Award, Dean’s Scholarship, W.T. Hogue Scholarship

Jessica Huston

KENTUCKY STATE UNIVERSITY                                                  

John Henry Jackson Academic Scholarship          

Tallin Smart

KENTUCKY WESLEYAN COLLEGE                                                               

Academic Scholarship, Friends of KWC, Residential Scholarship

Madison Dudgeon

Trustee Scholarship, Music Award          

Morgan Whittington

MURRAY STATE UNIVERSITY                                                     

Provost Scholarship, Commonwealth Honors Academy

Jessica Manion

NORTHERN KENTUCKY UNIVERSITY                                                       

Educational Diversity, Scholarship of Excellence, Music Audition Award

Shelby Dodd


Educator’s Award Scholarship   

Melody Raymond

TRANSYLVANIA UNIVERSITY                                                      

William R. Kenan, Jr. Scholarship, Orchestral Music Award          

Brooklyn Glasscock

UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY                                                         

Presidential Scholarship              

Payton Abney

William C. Parker Scholarship

Alexis Back, Grace Bernhard


Vogt Scholar, Honors Scholar    

Spencer Cannon

Trustee’s Scholarship    

Lyann Dao

WESTERN KENTUCKY UNIVERSITY                           

Cherry Presidential Finalist, Governor’s Scholar Award, Music Scholarship                          

Taeja Parsons

Cornelius A. Martin URM, L. T. Smith Award      

Cooper Terry

Academic Merit Award

Cheyenne Decker, Abigail Garrett, Ethan Hatfield, Morgan Lindsey,  Raquel Lopez-Flores, Natasha Ramsey, Andrea Smith, Cooper Terry, Cameron Wells

Courtesy of Grayson County Schools