Leitchfield resident recognized as KSP Post 4 Detective of the Year


A Leitchfield resident was recently recognized as the Kentucky State Police Post 4 Elizabethtown Detective of the Year.

Lt. Governor Jacqueline Coleman and Kentucky State Police recently honored troopers and officers who serve and protect Kentucky’s 120 counties with a mission of creating a better, safer Kentucky, and going beyond the mission of KSP.

The awards were for acts of bravery and service that occurred in 2022, state police said.

Honored as Kentucky State Police Post 4 Detective of the Year was Leitchfield resident, Det. James Gaither. Recognized as Post 4 Trooper of the Year was Louisville native, Trooper Kevin Dreisbach.

“In 2022, KSP responded to nearly 400,000 requests for assistance, rescued Kentuckians from the deadly eastern Kentucky flooding, conducted thousands of wellness checks on those involved in natural disasters and dangerous weather conditions,” state police said. “Troopers also continued in the fight against the deadly drug epidemic, obtained justice for victims, ran into unthinkable dangers, assisted local law enforcement agencies as needed and enhanced public and officer safety throughout the commonwealth.”

By Ken Howlett, News Director

Contact Ken at ken@k105.com