KHSAA finalizes new football district alignment starting in 2025


The Kentucky High School Athletic Association (KHSAA) has finalized the new district football alignment which will begin in 2025.

Grayson County will be slotted in a district with Barren County, Bowling Green, Greenwood, Ohio County, and Warren Central. This will be one of only five districts in the state with six teams.

This past season, the Cougars moved to Class 5A District 4 where they came away with their first outright district championship in over 40 years. They will remain in that pairing with Bullitt Central, Moore, North Bullitt, and Seneca for the upcoming year.

The school petitioned the KHSAA to allow them to remain in that district for the upcoming cycle but that was denied.

Other local schools will also see changes in their district, Butler County and Edmonson County will be in Class 3A District 2 alongside Adair County, Glasgow, and Hart County.

Additionally, Breckinridge County will play in Class 4A District 3 with Doss, North Oldham, Valley, and Waggener. They originally were set to join the 2nd district but were moved to the 3rd to allow Taylor County to re-enter the 2nd.

By Sam Gormley, Play-By-Play Announcer/Local Sports
Reach Sam at

Class 1A
District 1- Ballard Memorial, Caverna, Fulton County, Russellville
District 2- Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Holy Cross (Louisville), Kentucky Country Day
District 3- Bellevue, Dayton, Newport, Newport Central Catholic
District 4- Bishop Brossart, Holy Cross (Covington), Ludlow, Trimble County
District 5- Berea, Eminence, Frankfort, Sayre
District 6- Fairview, Nicholas County, Paris, Raceland
District 7- Harlan, Lynn Camp, Middlesboro, Pineville, Williamsburg
District 8- Hazard, Jenkins, Paintsville, Phelps, Pikeville

Class 2A
District 1- Caldwell County, Crittenden County, Fort Campbell, Mayfield, Todd County Central, Trigg County
District 2- Fort Knox, Hancock County, McLean County, Owensboro Catholic
District 3- Clinton County, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County, Somerset
District 4- Danville, Lexington Christian, Shawnee, Washington County, WEB DuBois
District 5- Beechwood, Bracken County, Gallatin County, Owen County, St. Henry District, Walton-Verona
District 6- Breathitt County, Jackson County, Morgan County, West Carter
District 7- Floyd Central, Knott County Central, Leslie County, Martin County, Prestonsburg
District -8 Belfry, Betsy Layne, East Ridge, Pike County Central, Shelby Valley

Class 3A
District 1- Hopkins County Central, Murray, Union County, Webster County
District 2- Adair County, Butler County, Edmonson County, Glasgow, Hart County
District 3- Central, Christian Academy-Louisville, DeSales, LaRue County, Thomas Nelson, Western
District 4- Bardstown, Casey County, Garrard County, Lexington Catholic, Mercer County
District 5- Bourbon County, Carroll County, Henry County, Lloyd Memorial, Pendleton County
District 6- Bath County, East Carter, Fleming County, Lewis County, Russell
District 7- Bell County, Clay County, Knox Central, McCreary Central, Rockcastle County
District 8- Estill County, Lawrence County, Letcher County Central, Magoffin County, Powell County

Class 4A
District 1- Allen County-Scottsville, Calloway County, Franklin-Simpson, Logan County, Paducah Tilghman, Warren East
District 2- Elizabethtown, John Hardin, Marion County, Nelson County, Taylor County
District 3- Breckinridge County, Doss, North Oldham, Valley, Waggener
District 4- Grant County, Franklin County, Shelby County, Spencer County, Western Hills
District 5- Covington Catholic, Harrison County, Highlands, Holmes, Mason County
District 6- Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County
District 7- Boyle County, Lincoln County, Russell County, Taylor County, Wayne County
District 8- Corbin, Harlan County, Perry County Central, Whitley County

Class 5A
District 1- Apollo, Graves County, Madisonville-North Hopkins, Marshall County, Muhlenberg County, Owensboro
District 2- Barren County, Bowling Green, Grayson County, Greenwood, Ohio County, Warren Central
District 3- Atherton, Butler, Iroquois, Seneca
District 4- Bullitt Central, Fairdale, Jeffersontown, Moore, North Bullitt
District 5- Boone County, Conner, Cooper, Dixie Heights, Scott
District 6- Anderson County, Collins, Scott County, South Oldham, Woodford County
District 7- East Jessamine, Madison Southern, Montgomery County, West Jessamine
District 8- North Laurel, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern

Class 6A
District 1- Christian County, Henderson County, Hopkinsville, McCracken County
District 2- Central Hardin, Daviess County, Meade County, South Warren
District 3- DuPont Manual, North Hardin, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier
District 4- Bullitt East, Fern Creek, Male, Southern
District 5- Ballard, Eastern, Oldham County, Trinity (Louisville)
District 6- Campbell County, Great Crossing, Ryle, Simon Kenton
District 7- Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Tates Creek
District 8- Bryan Station, Frederick Douglass, George Rogers Clark, Madison Central